English and
Cultural Studies

The teaching and research provided through our department focus upon the critical interpretation, social and historical context, and creative expression of literature and culture. The department cultivates the understanding and skills critical to participation and success in a complex, multicultural and global world.


Department Faculty

Adjunct Professors

  • Julie Allen
  • Mary Andersen
  • James Beaver
  • Stephanie Carter
  • Matthew Clowney
  • Matthew Ellis
  • Amy Foley
  • Jonathan Gibbs
  • Donald Holder
  • Kenneth Jolicoeur
  • Rebecca Karni
  • Sarah Kruse
  • Liliya Krys-Burhoe
  • Patricia C. Lange
  • David Liao
  • Karen A. Maguire
  • Sarah H Maitland
  • Ryan Marnane
  • Maureen C. Masse
  • Jean M. Plunkett
  • Jacob Richman
  • Erich Schumacher
  • Victor Wildman
Hasseler, Theresa

Theresa A. Hasseler

Professor, English and Cultural Studies
Faculty Suite A, Room 5
Ph D, University of Washington
MA, Marquette University
BA, St. Norbert College

Creative production, including the study of how artists and writers speak about creativity. Cultural studies, including the study of cultures in moments of crisis. Literary Studies, including study of Irish literature, gothic literature, and film.

Creative Writing, Studies in Creating and Creativity, Pedagogy.

  • Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators
  • 2007, Service Award
  • 2005, Faculty Mentor Award
  • 2002, Service Award
  • 1999, Curriculum Award
  • 1999, Faculty Herstory Award
  • 1997, Advisor of the Year Award

Enos, S., Dowling, M. A., Shea, R., Hasseler, T. A., Embracing a Creative Practice: The Creativity Fellows and Bryant University.” , KIE, 2015.

Hasseler, T., Li, S., Incorporating Creativity in Teaching: A Reflection on a Faculty Fellows Program, Northeast Decision Science Institute, 2014.

Coughlin, M., Hasseler, T., Dalessio, W., Martinetti, A., Rex, N., Janice, O., Walden, E., Dean, J., “Roundtable on Teaching ‘Work’ as an Interdisciplinary First-Year College Seminar", Iowa Journal of Cultural Studies, 2010.